Diocese of Sioux Falls celebrates ordinations to the priesthood and to the diaconate

Most Reverend Paul J. Swain, Bishop of Sioux Falls, stands (pictured, top) with the six newly ordained priests of the diocese.

Pictured are (top,  l. to r.): Rev. Thomas Hartman, Rev. Joseph Scholten, Rev. Andrew Thuringer, Bishop Swain, Rev. Timothy Smith, Rev. Brian Eckrich and Rev. Tyler Mattson.

Pictured, bottom, left, the six men being ordained prostrate themselves as part of the Litany of Supplication during the ordination liturgy.

Pictured, bottom, right, Bishop Paul Swain extends his hands over Patrick Grode during the Prayer of Ordination during the Ordination to the Order of the Diaconate liturgy at the Cathedral of Saint Joseph.

(Photos by Michael G. Brown Photography, Sioux Falls)

Headlines, July 2017, Local