Candidacy Mass celebrated for permanent diaconate class

Most Reverend Paul J. Swain, Bishop of Sioux Falls, prays for the seven candidates for the permanent diaconate during the Candidacy Mass at the Cathedral of Saint Joseph.

The candidates are (pictured left to right): Lewis Gaiani, St. Peter Parish, Jefferson; Jonathan Eckrich, St. Mary Parish, Sioux Falls; Jeff Swank, Sacred Heart Parish, Aberdeen; Douglas Schueller, SS. Peter and Paul Parish, Pierre; Bradley Palmer, SS. Peter and Paul Parish, Pierre; Peter Sexton, St. Teresa of Avila Parish, Beresford and Dan Sherban, St. Thomas Aquinas Parish, Madison.

(Photo by Gene Young)